Anti-Grief System

  • Views Views: 800
  • Last updated Last updated:
  • Anti-Grief System Header

    When Eternal Realms launched their public beta, their Anti-Griefing System was the first of the features to be ushered out. It was designed to prevent players from breaking blocks they do not have permission to break. If someone attempts to break any blocks a player has protected, the block will remain unchanged, and both parties will be notified if possible.

    The anti-griefing system is available through all wilderness and wasteland worlds.

    How Does It Work?

    The Anti-Griefing System implements three different player states for when you are building:

    Default Mode is the default state a player enters when they log in.
    Only some of the blocks are protected automatically in this mode. For a list of blocks, please see here.
    You return to this mode after disabling /noprotectmode or /buildmode.

    Build Mode is the state a player enters when they run the command /buildmode.
    Entering Build Mode will automatically disable /noprotectmode and will protect all blocks you place from that moment. You will be notified if any player attempts to break these blocks.

    No Protect Mode also known as NoPRMode is the state a player enters when they run the command /noprotectmode.
    Entering No Protect mode will automatically disable /buildmode and will not protect any blocks you place. You will not be notified if a player attempts to break these blocks.

    How can I tell what mode/state I am in?

    Depending on what mode you are in, you can check tablist to find out.

    The following will show in your tablist as well as occasionally above your hotbar: Build Mode
    Build Mode - Hotbar
    These would indiciate that you are in Build Mode.
    The following will show in your tablist as well as occasionally above your hotbar: No Protect Mode
    No Protect Mode - Hotbar
    These would indiciate that you are in No Protect Mode.
    If you do not see either of these messages display on your screen. You are in Default Mode.

    How am I protected?

    Blocks that were either automatically protected in Default mode or in Build Mode cannot be broken by players, entities, or redstone. This however does not prevent players from opening chests. To lock chests, we recommend you place protected full-blocks on top of chests to prevent them from being opened.

    What is not protected?

    To Be Written

    How do I allow someone to break my blocks?

    In order to allow a user to break your protected blocks, you have to be online and issue a command called vouch.

    The syntax is as follows: /vouch [player]. This gives the player up to 5 minutes to modify any protected blocks you own.

    To revoke a vouch, use the /unvouch [player] command.

    Am I allowed to break unprotected blocks that were placed by another player?

    Nope. As stated in our Eternal Realms Rule Book, Rule #3, breaking blocks that are not yours is against our rules. If you are unsure, ask a staff member to take a look at it.

    What blocks are automatically protected?

    Someone should probably create this list.

    How do I protect an existing build?

    There is no easy way other than to request help from an Admin. Each build is handled on a case to case status and may be subject to fees.
    To request a quote, please contact an Admin on our Discord.